Once a Month Cooking – Cooking Day Minus 2

I cook on the first Sunday of the month, so the Friday evening before I make a list of the things I’m going to make for the month. This month I am making:

3 Lasagnas
2 Beef Stews
2 Beef Curries
2 meals worth of meatballs
2 meals worth of meatloaf muffins
2 meals worth of pre-cooked potatoes for mashing
2 meals worth of Chinese black bean spareribs
4 meals worth of pre-cooked ground beef (for tacos or chili)
2 meals worth of fajita meat

I’m also going to add to the freezer:
2 meals worth of tortellini
2 pie crusts for quiche
frozen potstickers

Then I pull out whatever recipes I am going to use, and make an ingredient list. I use pen and paper for this, but there are plenty of apps out there if you are into that. I’ve tried them, and keep coming back to a paper list. Hey, whatever works right?

Ingredients I need for this month:
Costco
parmesan cheese
potstickers
tortellini

Farmers’ Market
carrots
eggs
garlic
onions
potatoes
sweet potatoes

Grocery Store
baby corn
basil
bay leaves
bbq sauce
bbq spice
Beef Cubes
black bean sauce
bread crumbs
canned plum tomatoes
chicken tenders
chili powder
coconut milk
coriander
crushed tomatoes
cumin
Flour
Frozen peas
Frozen peppers
frozen spinach
ginger powder
gravy mix
ground beef
Italian sausage
Lasagna noodles
marjoram
mozzarella
oregano
pie crust
pork spareribs
Red curry paste
Red Wine
Ricotta
spaghetti noodles
spaghetti sauce
thyme
tomato paste
vegetable broth
water chestnut

Then I go around the house, marking off what I already have and setting those things out on the counter to begin my mise en place.

Finally, I add any other stuff I might need to get at each place.

Costco
orange juice
cashews
almonds
craisins
chocolate chips

Farmer’s Market
Bread
Lettuce
Asparagus
Strawberries

Grocery
yogurt
sandwich meat
cheddar cheese
pickles
salsa

About rhiandmoi

I am totally awesome, if I do say so myself.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

